Tuesday Tuneage – “I Gotta Feeling”

I gotta feeling that this song is going to still be stuck in my head until 2040, whether I want it to be or not. If you went to a wedding this summer (except mine), you heard it. You jumped around the same way you did when it was House of Pain on the stereo, perhaps you even longed for hip hop of a different era and thought about running to the bathroom to put your pants on backwards Kris Kross-style. (Or maybe that was just me… and I was wearing a dress at both weddings I was at this summer, so putting it on backwards would have just looked wiggedy-wiggedy-whack. Oh, 1992, how I miss you. Musically, anyways.)

The video contains scantily dressed women (shocker) grinding up on each other (shocker), lots of drinking and some glow in the dark paint (which I think is kinda cool… the new version of those glow bracelets/necklaces/earrings that popular culture has borrowed from the raver crowd?). I like that they show the girls falling over on the sidewalk at the end. Dunno, it makes me laugh. (And reminds me how I really REALLY don’t ever want to be the stumbly drunk girl at the end of the night.)

Note the 2010-appropriate battalion-style jacket on will.i.am … this will definitely date this video to the year.

Leave a Reply

