Tuesday Tuneage – Little Lion Man and Ali in the Jungle

I like alliterations a lot. So terrific (or terrible) tunes on Tuesday it is… My plan is to post a new song every week to document what’s buzzing in my ears (good or bad).

I am already at a conundrum, as I’ve had two songs on repeat on my iPod for the last few days. So I’ll post both of them. They are both from British groups (and I just realized I’m drinking Earl Grey tea at this very moment… with cream and sugar… how English of me).  Might have to buy some scones and watch Monty Python later.

1. Mumford and Sons – Little Lion Man

Love. Love. Love. Love the tune, love the harmony, love the banjo, love the least gratuitous use of the word “fuck” that I can think of (seriously, listen to the song and tell me if any other word could possibly work nearly as well?)

2. The Hours – Ali in the Jungle

Yes, this song is four years old. But I just discovered it a few weeks ago and bought the album (Narcissus Road) yesterday. So it’s new to me.

I’ll admit, I had to look up a couple of the references in the chorus. I just finished reading the Poisonwood Bible, which mentions the 1974 Foreman/Ali fight (the “Rumble in the Jungle” that took place in Zaire, which is now the Congo), so I had that one figured out. Nelson in jail, Keller in the darkness, Ludwig Van… those were straightforward. But who was “Simpson on the mountain” or “Adams on the docks”??  Thanks to the always helpful Wikipedia, I learned that Joe Simpson is a famous British mountaineer who’s had a few brushes with death, and Francis Adams was an English writier who figured in the labour movement when he stood up for London dockworkers.

I love the video… I wish I could find a better quality version, but this’ll have to do.

Leave a Reply

